In honor of the 65th anniversary of the U.S. Supreme Court’s unanimous decision in Brown v. Board of Education, the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc. (LDF) and other civil rights organizations will be hosting a rally at the U.S. Capitol on Thursday, May 16th. Speakers will address the still urgent struggle for education equity as well as the growing trend of executive and judicial nominees failing to endorse the Brown decision during their confirmation hearings. Just as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered his historic “Give Us the Ballot” address at the “Prayer Pilgrimage for Freedom,” those addressing the audience will also highlight the need to push for equality in all aspects of American life, including tying this anniversary to the fight for voting rights and the current effort to fully restore Voting Rights Act.

Inspired by the “Prayer Pilgrimage for Freedom” – which was held on the third anniversary of Brown in 1957 – the event will bring together civil rights leaders, elected officials, and advocates fighting to make real the vision of equality laid out in the Brown decision.

WHERE: U.S. Capitol, Corner of Constitution Avenue and 1st Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20001

WHEN: Thursday, May 16th 10:00 am ET

WHO: LDF President and Director-Counsel Sherrilyn Ifill; The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights President and CEO Vanita Gupta; Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer; Representative Terri Sewell; Representative Veronica Escobar; Senator Richard BlumenthalNAACP Regional Director Jonathan McKinney; National Women’s Law Center President and CEO Fatima Goss Graves; Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund Regional Counsel Andrea Senteno; National Coalition on Black Civic Participation President and CEO Melanie L. Campbell; Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under the Law President and Executive Director Kristen Clarke; National Urban League Senior Vice President for Policy and Washington Bureau Executive Director Clint Odom; Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC President and Executive Director John C. YangNational Education Association President Lily Eskelsen GarciaNational Action Network Policy Advisor Kyra Stephenson-Valley; and NAACP Youth & College Division representative Sareil Brookins

[accordions_pplugins id=’8211′]