To commemorate the 65th Anniversary of the U.S. Supreme Court’s momentous decision in Brown v. Board of Education, the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc. (LDF) will be hosting a luncheon, May 17, 2019 at 1:00 PM EST, to celebrate the historic victory as well as some of the incredible women who made it possible. The event will include remarks from LDF President and Director-Counsel Sherrilyn Ifill and Associate Director-Counsel Janai Nelson, as well as a recognition of the life and unparalleled work of Jean Fairfax.

At the luncheon, LDF board member and former associate counsel David E. Kendall will receive the LDF Distinguished Alumni Award for his remarkable service and pivotal contributions to the organization. After his award is conferred, LDF will present the Pioneer of Justice Award to Elizabeth Eckford, Doris Faye Jennings Alston, Doris Raye Jennings Brewer, and Leona Tate, in recognition of their fearless efforts to desegregate the public-school system in Little Rock, Arkansas; Hearne, Texas; and New Orleans, Louisiana, respectively. Following the presentation, the awardees will participate in moderated conversation with Isabel Wilkerson, author of The Warmth of Other Suns.

[accordions_pplugins id=’8176′]