National Officers

Janai Nelson

President and Director-Counsel

NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund, Inc.

Kim Koopersmith


Akin Gump

Angela Vallot


VallotKarp Consulting, LLC.

James Castillo


Former VP, United Parcel Service

Steven B. Pfeiffer


Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US L.L.P

Board of Directors

William J. Bynum


Hope Enterprise Corporation/Hope Credit Union

Robyn Coles


TRATE Enterprises

Leslie Cornfeld


National Education Equity Lab

Gregory Evans


McGuireWoods LLP

Colleen Foster

Senior Financial Services Executive

Lisa Gilford


Sidley Austin LLP

David E. Kendall


Williams & Connolly

Ronald Kirk

Senior Of Counsel

Gibson Dunn

Michael R. Klein

Co-Founder & Chairman

The Sunlight Foundation

William Lighten

Managing Director

Eland Capital Partners

Cecilia L. Marshall


Partnership for Education Advancement

Cynthia Patton

General Counsel and Secretary

Tessera Therapeutics

Luis Penalver


Corporate Group Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP

Anne Small

General Counsel and Chief Legal Officer

Renaissance Technologies LLC

Jonathan Soros


JS Capital Management, LLC

John R. Stephens

John Legend Music, Inc.

Tony West

Chief Legal Officer

Uber Corporation

Judge Ann Claire Williams (Ret.)

Of Counsel

Jones Day

Ron Wilson


Blake Jones Law Firm

Kenji Yoshino

Chief Justice Earl Warren Professor of Constitutional Law at NYU School of Law

Director of the Meltzer Center for Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging

Senior Directors

Clifford P. Case, III

Judith I. Byrd

Andrew J. Young, Jr.

Martin D. Payson

Nannette B. Gibson

Richard M. Moss

Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

Gabriella E. Morris

Toni G. Fay

Frederick A. O. Schwarz, Jr.

Patrick A. Bradford

Tonya Lewis Lee

Dr. Mary Frances Berry

Paul N. Roth

Eleanor S. Applewhaite

Daniel L. Rabinowitz

Anthony G. Amsterdam

Theodore V. Wells, Jr.

Co-Chairs Emeriti

David W. Mills

Gerald S. Adolph

Theodore V. Wells, Jr.

William M. Lewis, Jr.

Directors Emeriti

Adebayo Ogunlesi

Sherrilyn Ifill

Norman C. Francis

E. Thomas Williams, Jr.

George E. Marshall, Jr.

Marian Wright Edelman

Caroline B. Kennedy

Bonnie Kayatta Steingart

Quincy Jones

Elaine R. Jones

Patricia L. Irvin

William H. Brown, III

Theodore M. Shaw

Charles V. Hamilton

Anita Lyons Bond

Gilbert T. Ray

Alice M. Beasley

Billye Suber Aaron

Lawrence Newman