NAACP Legal Defense Fund : Defend, Educate, Empower

Skip to Navigation
"The NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund is simply the best civil rights law firm in American history." -- President Obama

News Updates

  • Nicholas deBelleville Katzenbach, 1922 – 2012


    In the early 1960s Nicholas Katzenbach was part of the cadre of talented lawyers from the Justice Department who worked to ensure that the national promise of equality too long ignored was finally kept. In those years, Katzenbach, as Attorney General Robert F. Kennedy’s deputy and later as Attorney General himself, led the Department’s efforts to eliminate Jim Crow, secure the right to vote; and to open the public schools and other institutions of the Southern U.S. to blacks.

  • Judge Louis H. Pollak, 1922 – 2012


    The NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc. is deeply saddened by the passing of Judge Louis H. Pollak, a legendary figure in LDF’s and this nation’s quest for racial justice and equality. Fighting for equality may have been part of Judge Pollak’s destiny because his father, Walter Pollak, argued the infamous Scottsboro case in the U.S. Supreme Court. Judge Pollak’s contributions, however, were truly awe-inspiring. After graduating from Yale Law School in 1948, Louis Pollak clerked for U.S. Supreme Court Justice Wiley Rutledge. It was then that he befriended William T.

  • LDF and Project Vote Win Important Legal Victory for Public Assistance Recipients in Louisiana


    (New Orleans, LA) – Yesterday, voting rights advocates won an important legal victory that will ensure that Louisiana’s public assistance agency clients—the state’s poorest and most marginalized residents—will be offered an opportunity to register to vote.

  • Race Discrimination After Foreclosure: Are Communities of Color Treated Differently?


    The current foreclosure crisis constitutes a monumental civil rights issue. Communities of color were targeted for risky mortgage loans, have experienced disproportionately high foreclosure rates, and have been stripped of vast amounts of wealth because of discriminatory lending practices.

  • LDF Applauds New EEOC Guidelines That Expand Workplace Opportunity


    (New York, NY) – The NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund (LDF) applauds the issuance of detailed guidelines by the Equal Employment and Opportunity Commission (EEOC) that makes it easier for those who have paid their debt to society to transition back into the workforce.  The new guidelines instruct employers to consider only important and relevant details about a candidate’s criminal background, such as the nature of the offense, age at time of conviction, and the extent of rehabilitation efforts, so that reasoned employment decisions can be made without compromising safety and