NAACP Legal Defense Fund : Defend, Educate, Empower

Skip to Navigation
"The NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund is simply the best civil rights law firm in American history." -- President Obama

National Equal Justice Award Dinner (NEJAD)

Event Date(s): 
Tuesday, November 12, 2013 - 6:30pm
Hilton New York & Towers Hotel
1335 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10019

The NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc. (LDF) celebrated its 27th annual National Equal Justice Award Dinner, on November 12, 2013 at the Hilton New York Hotel and Towers, 1335 Avenue of the Americas (between 53rd and 54th Streets) in New York City.  The evening began at 6:30 pm with a reception, followed by the dinner and program at 7:30 pm.  The program ended at 9:30 pm, and guests were invited to enjoy live jazz music and dessert immediately following the program.

This year LDF presented three awards:

George SorosGeorge Soros: Philanthropist and founder of the Open Society Foundations and international supporter of ideals and causes for more than 30 years received the National Equal Justice Award.  This award was presented to Mr. Soros by Raymond J. McGuire, Global Head, Corporate and Investment Banking for Citi.
David MillsDavid Mills: Professor of Law at Stanford Law School, a life-long advocate for social justice and a Co-Chair of the LDF Board of Directors received the Thurgood Marshall Lifetime Achievement Award.  This award was presented to Mr. Mills by Theodore V. Wells, Jr., Partner and Co-Chair of Litigation, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison. 
Soledad O'BrienSoledad O’Brien: Award-winning journalist, producer and distinguished Visiting Fellow at Harvard University received the LDF Spirit of America Award.  Ms. O’Brien’s award was presented by Sherrilyn A. Ifill, LDF’s 7th President and Director-Counsel. 


Lauren Devereux, Anne Devereux, David Mills and Elaine Jones

David Mills, Sherrilyn Ifill, Soledad O'Brien

Sherrilyn Ifill, Christina Swarns, Ivo Knobloch, Gay McDougall, Ryan Haygood

Sherrilyn Ifill and Susan Fales-Hill

Marc Morial, Elaine Jones, Dr. Hazel Dukes

Judy Byrd, David Mills, Sherrilyn Ifill, George Soros and Angela Vallot

William Snipes, Theodore V. Wells, Jr., Tamara Robinson, William M. Lewis, Jr.

Judith Byrd, Sherrilyn Ifill, Angela Vallot

Angela Vallot, Gabriella Morris, Judith Byrd

Jonathan Sandville and Pia Winslow

Fred Terrell and Jonelle Procope

Fred Terrell, Jonelle Procope, Carole Hall, Ira Hall 

Laurie Robinson-Haden and David Haden 

William M. Lewis, Jr., Carol Sutton-Lewis and Raymond McGuire

Thelma Golden and David Monn

Judith Scheide, Mariam Nazarian, George Soros

Elaine Jones, Ted Shaw and Sherrilyn Ifill

Sherrilyn Ifill and David Mills

Tonya Lewis Lee

Room Shot

Susan Fales-Hill, Author and Television Producer, was this year’s Mistress of Ceremonies.  LDF Board Members Angela Vallot, Partner, VallotKarp Consulting, LLC., and Judith Byrd, President, Byrd Retail Group served as Co-Chairs of NEJAD.  Gabriella Morris, a member of the LDF Board and former President of the Prudential Foundation and Laurie Robinson Haden, Senior Vice President & Assistant General Counsel, CBS, served as Vice chairs of NEJAD.

Special highlights included a video that provided a glimpse of LDF’s present challenges.  LDF is America's premier legal organization fighting for racial justice.  Through litigation, advocacy and public education, LDF seeks structural changes to expand democracy, eliminate disparities, and achieve racial justice in a society that fulfills the promise of equality for all Americans.