NAACP Legal Defense Fund : Defend, Educate, Empower

Skip to Navigation
"The NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund is simply the best civil rights law firm in American history." -- President Obama

Board of Directors

National Officers

  • Gerald S. Adolph

    Former Principal, Strategy&
  • Sherrilyn Ifill

    President and Director-Counsel
    NAACP Legal Defense & Education Fund, Inc.
  • Janai Nelson

    Associate Director-Counsel
    NAACP Legal Defense & Education Fund, Inc.
  • James Castillo

    Former VP, United Parcel Service
  • David W. Mills

    Professor of Practice and Senior Lecturer, Stanford Law School Director of Clinical Education at Stanford (Retired)
  • Stephen B. Pfeiffer

    Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US L.L.P.

National Board of Directors

  • William J. Bynum

    Hope Enterprise Corporation/Hope Credit Union
  • Eric H. Holder Jr.

    Covington & Burling LLP/82nd Attorney General of the United States
  • Luis Penalver

    Corporate Group Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP
  • Judith I. Byrd

    Byrd Retail Group, LLC
  • David E. Kendall

    Williams & Connolly
  • Michele Roberts

    Executive Director
    National Basketball Players Association
  • Clifford P. Case III

    Of Counsel
    Carter Ledyard & Milburn LLP
  • Michael R. Klein

    Co-Founder & Chairman
    The Sunlight Foundation
  • Judith McCartin Scheide

    Former Development Officer
    Princeton University
  • Robyn Coles

    TRATE Enterprises
  • Kim Koopersmith

    Partner & Chairperson
    Akin Gump
  • Jonathan Soros

    JS Capital Management, LLC
  • Damien Dwin

    Managing Partner
    Brightwood Capital Advisors
  • William Lighten

    Managing Director
    Eland Capital Partners
  • Angela Vallot

    VallotKarp Consulting, LLC.
  • Gregory Evans

    Managing Partner
    McGuire Woods Los Angeles
  • Cecilia S. Marshall

    Civic Leader
  • Tony West

    General Counsel
  • Laurie Robinson Haden

    Senior Vice President & Assistant General Counsel
    CBS Corporation
  • Adebayo Ogunlesi

    Chairman and Managing Partner
    Global Infrastructure Partners

Senior Directors

  • Anthony G. Amsterdam

  • Jetta N. Jones

  • Daniel L. Rabinowitz

  • Eleanor S. Applewhaite

  • Vernon E. Jordan, Jr.

  • Paul N. Roth

  • Dr. Mary Frances Berry

  • Tonya Lewis Lee

  • Judith T. Sapers

  • Patrick A. Bradford

  • John D. Maguire

  • Frederick A. O. Schwarz, Jr.

  • Toni G. Fay

  • Gabriella E. Morris

  • John W. Walker

  • Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

  • Richard M. Moss

  • George Wallerstein

  • Nannette B. Gibson

  • Lawrence Newman

  • Theodore V. Wells, Jr.

  • Louis Harris

  • Martin D. Payson

  • Andrew J. Young, Jr.

  • Anna Faith Jones

  • Robert O. Preyer

Co-Chairs Emeriti

  • William M. Lewis, Jr.

  • Martin D. Payson

  • Theodore V. Wells, Jr.

Directors Emeriti

  • Billye Suber Aaron

  • Ronald T. Gault

  • C. Carl Randolph

  • Alice M. Beasley

  • Lucy Durr Hackney

  • Gilbert T. Ray

  • Anita Lyons Bond

  • Charles V. Hamilton

  • Theodore M. Shaw

  • William H. Brown III

  • Patricia L. Irvin

  • Wayman F. Smith III

  • Talbot D'Alemberte

  • Elaine R. Jones

  • Michael I. Sovern

  • Peter J. DeLuca

  • Quincy Jones

  • Bonnie Kayatta Steingart

  • Anthony S. Downs

  • Caroline B. Kennedy

  • Jay Topkis

  • Marian Wright Edelman

  • George E. Marshall, Jr.

  • E. Thomas Williams, Jr.

  • Norman C. Francis

Affiliations are listed for identification only